-New COVID-19 resource:
 -Person County Operations Update April 29, 2020. Click To Read More.
-Person County Government Reports Cyber-Incident. Click To Read More.

Gun Permit

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

General Information

Learning the laws regulating the use of firearms is a must for responsible ownership. Local regulations differ and laws vary from state to state. Citizens must check with the jurisdiction where the gun is to be used.

Guns must be carried in plain view. Guns must not be carried in a pocket, purse, under a car seat or in any other concealed manner unless you have a concealed handgun permit.

The North Carolina General Assembly enacted a concealed handgun law that allows qualifying citizens of North Carolina the opportunity to obtain a permit to carry a concealed handgun. This law became effective on December 1, 1995, and requires that the permit be secured from the sheriff of the permit holder's county of residence.

Gaining competency with firearms is like learning to drive a car or fly an airplane. You need expert instruction and practice. There is no shortcut. If you are not willing to invest the time and effort to become competent, then having a firearm and trying to use it can, in many instances, be more hazardous than any impending threat.

Storage of firearms and ammunition presents a unique responsibility. Children may see weapons as toys, and thieves view them as a tool for crime or an item that can be sold for quick profit. Keep all firearms locked away in a secure place.

Handgun Purchase Permit Requirements

Applicant must:

  • be a citizen, a naturalized citizen or a resident alien;
  • be twenty-one (21) years of age;
  • have attained at least one month's residency in Person County;
  • provide a valid driver's license or other picture ID with current address provided by the state of North Carolina.

A criminal background check must be performed before granting of permit.

Permit to purchase a handgun costs five dollars ($5.00).

Permit to purchase a handgun is valid for a period of five (5) years from date of issue.

Online Handgun Permit Applications have a $3.00 convenience fee (fee is waived on paper applications).

Gun Safety Tips for Parents

  1. If you keep a handgun in your home, always keep it unloaded and locked up!
  2. Always lock and store bullets separately from your gun. Young children can figure out how to load a gun.
  3. Keep a gun lock on your gun after it is unloaded. [Gun locks are excellent devices when used in combination with other safety habits. Gun locks can provide a false sense of security. All it takes is forgetting to lock a gun just one time. Or leaving the key where a child can find it. Always be diligent when using a gun lock. Always double check to make sure that it is locked at all times.]
  4. Make sure children don't have access to the keys to gun locks and gun and ammunition storage areas.
  5. Even if you don't own a gun, talk with your children about the danger of guns and what to do if they find one while playing or at a friend's house.
  6. Explain to your children that guns are dangerous and that they should never touch them.