Person County Animal Services offers rabies vaccinations for dogs and cats for only $10.00.
Animal must be at least 4 months old and vaccines are good for 1 year.
Rabies vaccines are given at Animal Services Building during our business hours. Just call ahead to verify we have a vaccinator available.
Woodsdale Animal Hospital holds (2) Rabies Clinics per year (April and October). Be sure to watch the local newspaper or call ahead for dates and times.
Rabies is a deadly viral disease that attacks the central nervous system of warm-blooded animals, particularly mammals
- If you are bitten or scratched by any animal, clean the wound out well with soap and running water for 15 minutes and contact your doctor. Be certain to write down the location of the animal and a description of the animal to provide to animal control. Do not try to catch any wild animal that bites or scratches you. Call animal control immediately to capture the animal for rabies testing. If the animal is someone's pet, also get the owner's name and address and give them to the animal control officer. Any mammal can transmit rabies. The animal that bit you, depending on the species and circumstances, will have to be evaluated or tested for rabies. For dogs, cats, and ferrets, animal control may be able to locate the animal based on the information you provide, and place the animal in 10-day confinement as designated by the local health director (NCGS 130A-196).
- North Carolina law (N.C. general statute 130A-185 ) requires owners of dogs, cats and ferrets to have their pets currently vaccinated against rabies, beginning at four months of age.
- If your pet is not currently vaccinated and is bitten by an animal that is or might be rabid, animal control is required by law to either quarantine the pet for six months or euthanize it (NCGS 130A-197 ). That choice must be made by the local health director.
- Dogs and cats are required by law to wear a rabies tag.
- Vaccinations are available from any licensed veterinarian or a Certified Rabies Vaccinator.
- Be sure to keep your animal’s rabies vaccine current. Keep the Rabies Certificate in a safe place and be sure you know when it will expire so you can get it a new vaccination BEFORE it expires.
North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services
Person County Health Department
Center for Disease Control and Prevention